Snap Map 🗺️ – security concerns

If you’re a user of Snapchat, you may want to take a closer look at the new ‘Snap Map’ feature that has been introduced to the app.

Snap Map is a new location sharing layer to the popular photo messaging app. It allows you to see where all of your Snapchat friends are in real time and what stories they are posting.

The app uses the user’s location, with their permission, to tag where they are and provide geo-filters for the person to use on their Snapchats.

Snapchat is an extremely popular app and one that many young people are using. The latest update could increase the risk of children encountering bullying, stalking and strangers.

Enable Ghost Mode👻

When you open Snap Map for the first time, you will get a prompt to choose who to share your location with. This setting can be changed at any time!

  • Only Me (Ghost Mode): Your location won’t be visible to anyone else on the Map.
  • My Friends: Your location will be visible to all of your friends on the Map as long as you are mutual friends. This includes any new friends you make too.
  • Select Friends…: Choose specific friends to share your location with. Friends you select won’t be notified that you chose them, but they’ll be able to see your location as long as you are mutual friends.

Edit your location settings: Tap the ‘Settings’ button in the top right corner of the Map screen. This is where you can see your location, or hide your location altogether by going into Ghost Mode👻 (recommended).

 

The launch of Snap Map has prompted the Child Exploitation and Online Protection Centre (CEOP) to update its ‘Thinkuknow’ parents’ and carers’ guide to Snapchat. You can find it here.